Sierre-Zinal 2024 Saturday, August 10, registration on April 2
Start of the race in


One of the world’s most scenic mountain running trails, Sierre-Zinal has been hailed as the “New York Marathon” of mountain races. It is also the oldest of the kind in Europe.

Also called the “Race of the Five 4000m Peaks”, Sierre-Zinal heads along a daunting 31 km mountain trail involving a 2200 meter elevation gain and a 1100 meter vertical drop in the heart of the Valais Alps. The ingredients that lead to Sierre-Zinal’s enduring success are the stunning scenery, the warm and genial atmosphere, and the overall superb organization of the event. It stands out among the world’s most famous mountain races for good reason!

“As a mountain racer you must experience the tradition and history of this race.” These are the words of Jonathan Wyatt, a record holder of Sierre-Zinal, the Jungfrau Marathon and many other world-famous races.


Sierre-Zinal Overall Organization:

Sierre-Zinal executive committee

Director: Vincent Theytaz
Assistant Director: Valentin Genoud
Safety and Tech: Jérémie Melly
Guest Runners: Lucien Epiney
Starting Block: Jean-Yves Delacombaz

other committees

Association Delegate: Gaby Vianin
General Administration: Sophie Varoniner
Sponsoring manager: Sylvie Melly
Translation: Sandra Beck, Adriana Claude, Maria Epiney, Lieve Buntinx, Alexandra Jodidio
Website Translation: Evelyne and Isabelle Pinard (EN), Ursi Salamin (DE)
Archives: Rémy Zufferey, Corem
Finances: Sophie Varonier
Media Relations: Benoist Germann
Sierre Lodging: Claire Zen Ruffinen
Website: Boomerang
Graphic Design: K'rla
Photo Service: Mégane Delacombaz
Social Events: Jérôme Crettaz
Mascot: Yves Crettaz
Prize-giving ceremony: Anne-Sophie Theytaz

Start and course managers

Bib Number hand out: Roland Beney
Start: Jeanloup Epiney, Christian Bagnoud
Radio Liaisons: Guillaume Ebener
Juniors' race: André Clavien
Electricity / Lighting: Reynold Favre
Sound System: Sonoval
Traffic: Police municipale de Sierre, Police cantonale
Trail Maintenance: Voirie de Sierre, Commune d’Anniviers, René Baumann
Signage: Yolande Moos avec le CA Sierre
Check-points: Alain Emery
Race Medical Staff: Stéphane Zufferey
Massages: Olivia Debatty, Fabienne Arend
Course Safety / Marshalls: Vincent Berthod, Jérémie Melly
Course: Jérémie Melly
Touristes Backrunners: Jean-Daniel Délèze et Gilles Favre
Runners Backrunners: Remo Carissoni
Chandolin Speaker: Christophe Hagin

Finish managers

Overall Coordination: Patrice Morisod
Diplomas: Marc-André Zurwerra
Timing: Gil Bonnet, Datasport
Ranking: Datasport
Zinal Speaker: Jérôme Crettaz
Guest Runners Meal: Stéphane et Véronique Tissières
Finish Welcome: Rémy Zufferey
Awards Presentation: Lucas Nanchen

Association de Sierre-Zinal board

Jean-Claude Pont (President)
Gabriel Vianin (Vice-President)
Christian Melly
Myriam Bonnard
Sabrina Imhof

Zinal Festivites

Concert: Leslie Melly
Canteen: Philippe Burgener, Patrick Bérod
Catering: Amadeus Sarl, Mayen Traiteur
Celebratory Drink: Commune d’Anniviers et Bourgeoisie d’Ayer
Car Park: Etienne Crettaz
T-shirts: Ophélie Genoud

checkpoints team leaders

Checkpoint 1 Beauregard: Tiffany Clavien, Bastien Blanc
Checkpoint 2 Ponchette: Yannick Ruppen, Christian Affolter
Checkpoint 3 Chandolin: Magali Crettaz, Alan Théodoloz
Checkpoint 4 Tignousa: Christian Caloz
Checkpoint 5 Hôtel Weisshorn: Nicolas Misson
Checkpoint 6 Barneusa: Sébastien Chaudron, SD Ayer

Cookie policy

By continuing to browse this site, you agree to the use of cookies to improve your user experience and for the generation of visit statistics.

You can customise the use of cookies using the buttons below.

Accept all Reject all My preferences